A light at the end of the tunnel.

I was surrounded by darkness. Wherever I turn, I am consumed by darkness. Left and right they would engage me in their senseless talks. On and on they would pursue me with grandeur of gifts and treasures belonging in this world. Tempted as I am, slowly I was compelled, then paralyzed.

I gave you a spirit not of fear, but of power and love and self-control, He says. (2 Timothy 1:7) Back to my reality in Him, half awake I could hear the waves of the sea as it kisses the sand on the shore. Not yet my daughter, it’s not the time to grieve. Come to me and I will give you rest (Matthew 11:28) are the words He uttered that breathe life to my dry bones.

I didn’t see it coming you know. How after taking a peek in this door, I allowed the world to put me into chains. As He carries me with His own light, tears started to outrun every doubt and fear I felt not so long ago. Once again, I was consumed by His fire (Hebrews 12:29).

I found myself in Corinth today. He handed me a letter written by his disciple Paul. We sat in an empty street beside houses made of stone. I read out loud the words He has spoken through Paul. The letter reveals the triumphs and struggles that result when life in the present age meets up with the in-breaking reality of God’s Kingdom.

Now it is God who makes both us and you stand firm in Christ. He anointed us, set his seal of ownership on us, and put his Spirit in our hearts as a deposit, guaranteeing what is to come (2 Corinthians 1:21,22). These are His words written not in tablets of stones but on tablets of human hearts (2 Corinthians 2:5). These are treasures incomparable to any amount of gold.

The world may say whatever they want to say. They may show you whatever pleases them. But what matters is, who are you listening to? Where are you looking at? Is there any reason for you to  be still, and know that I am God (Psalm 46:10)? Is there anything to hard for me (Jeremiah 32:27)?

Leave a Reply

