How to Save a Life?

It’s just very seasonal to see a lot of stories in our Facebook newsfeed about Manny Pacquiao, aka Pacman, because of his upcoming “Fight of the Century” with Floyd May Weather Jr.

Today, as I was browsing mine, I saw this post from GMA news. Pacman is featured in an ESPN special. The special focuses on how Pacman witnessed his bestfriend breath his last in the ring when he was fifteen years old.

How many times have we witness a friend lost his fire for God?  How may times have we tried , as humanly possible we can , to reach out to them and see those eyes fixed  on Jesus once more? How may times have we prayed, hoping that one day, we would come to worship God once again beside them?

When I was beginning to know God as my Lord and Savior, God used a friend to speak life to me. We attended Sunday services together, finished one 2 one at the same times and we were even batch mates on our Victory Weekend. So when she stopped attending Sunday services and our Victory Group, I was alarmed.

I would continue to inviting her to our Victory Group, messaging her via chat, and even meeting her out for a cup of coffee. We would talk in hours. She would tell me how much she wanted to continue serving in the music ministry . That this coming Sunday, she will attend our Victory Group after the 11 am service. She never did.

I felt sad. I would cry to God of how much I miss her and would like to continue walking with Him, knowing that I have a friend who is accountable to me. It was devastating. I did everything I could but then I came to that point that I was already forcing her , I’m already violating her free will.

I let go and let God. It was as if He was telling me that He is the one who saves and establishes as mans feet, for Our God is a God of salvation, and to God, the Lord, belong deliverance from death.(Psalm68:20). God has his reasons, and as much as I wanted to help, I’m blocking His hands to work in her life.

God loves our friends more than we do. Indeed He is the only one who creates and establishes relationships in our lives. And despite of the distance, as Pacman said, “I will continue our dreams. I will continue our battle.” And through prayers, we will continue to hope that one day, may it be on earth or in heaven, we will call out to each other and say, “Holy, holy, holy, is our Lord God Almighty…” (Revelations4:8)

*Below is the link to ESPN’s Special:

http://www.gmanetwork.com/news/story/477398/sports/boxing/watch-in-espn-special-manny-pacquiao-talks-about-best-friend-dying-in-the-ring

Leave a Reply

