Hold Fast

Riding the train fascinates me. But what annoys me is the crowded space that won’t allow me to enjoy the view on the outside as I await my destination. Public transportation gives you much room to practice the art of patience  in silence.

One day I was going to  Letran via LRT Line 2 (which is my favorite line due to it’s  Japanese Rail Station – like interior). When I entered the train, I found an empty space without a pole nearby. The train started moving. I had no choice but to do a balancing act for the next 10 minutes.

I have formulated my own strategy to avoid any circus like exhibition that might lead to public humiliation. When I was doing my balancing act, I realized how riding the train might have been easier  if I’m holding on to a pole.At that moment, I was hoping to hold on to something that will make me feel secure and safe. Something that will enable me to enjoy the scenery outside.

As an adventurer of our own destiny, holding on to something that is constant is very important. It allows us to enjoy the ride of  our life in a sense that our safety is still a priority amid the spontaneity of it all. Knowing our boundaries is not to restrain us but to give us enough time and energy to navigate the totality of the experience.

As it is written in Hebrews 10:23, ” Let us hold fast the confession of our hope without wavering, for he who promised is faithful.” Going through life is unpredictable. Some of its encounters involve pain, challenges and detours. Yet one must remember that security is not based on anything that is temporal but eternal.

Wherever ride you are into right now, make sure to hold on to something stable and will  keep you safe at all cost. Hold on to what is true and ever lasting. In this adventure, you have a choice.

Leave a Reply

