Let the Rest Burn

I had an opportunity to attend a Switchfoot concert last April 16 (Easter Sunday) at BGC, Taguig City. Switchfoot is an American rock group who is behind the songs Dare You to Move and Meant to Live. Me and my friend also had the privilege to meet and greet the group that night. The funny thing about it was, after meeting them, I was so starstrucked , “Good Job!” was the only words that came out of my mouth before we took a group picture (hahaha!).

Astig! Good Job! 😆🎁

A post shared by Jeka Zapanta 🌻 (@jekamzapanta) on

Besides being a full pledge fangirl that night, I love the fact that I got to share this moment with friends. Even though we had to wait (more than an hour) and even got wet (it was drizzling before it started), it was an opportune time to catch up. Thank God friendships are waterproof!

What made this concert personal to me was when Switchfoot sang the song If the House Burns Down Tonight from their latest album Where the Light Shines Through. Before Jon started to sing, he shared that the song was created out of an experience. It was when a destructive fire in their neighborhood forced them to leave their home. First time hearing the song, I was moved into tears. Because you see, a few weeks ago, I almost lost my home too.

That night, everyone was tweeting about the earthquake widely felt by most of the people living in Metro Manila and Batangas. I went to the kitchen to grab something to eat when I saw a fire outside our window. It started a few houses away from ours. My parents were not yet home so I immediately contacted them. They arrived just in time for us to leave the area. The streets were already blocked by firetrucks, as well as people gathering in groups.

We put Mike and Mom into safety first. As I was about to leave, I grab this medium sized bag that contained a few things I usually bring when I leave the house (this includes my wallet, Bible, and mobile phone). For a moment, I stared at my books and felt saying goodbye to them. I left praying the fire wont reach my home for 15 years.

Dad and 2 of my family members stayed behind (making sure that outsiders wont take advantage of the situation). Positioning myself in an area between our house and our car (were Mike and Mom was), I stood in a safe distance watching the fire consume a few houses. I started to quietly pray and ask God for the safety and the protection of every families and firemen that night.

e.png

By 11 pm, the fire was under control and we were back at the safety of our home. That night, I cant brush off the fear of losing things, especially the people that I love. It came to me what Job said in 1:21 when he lost his children and property, “I came naked from my mother’s womb, and I will be naked when I leave.”

That fire night was a wake up call. It reminded me of the things I value most in life. I realized that at moments like this, the safety of my family (relationships) was first. I can only grab a few things and if I needed to hold on to anyone with both of my hands, I will gladly choose to drop any material thing I’ve got.

In Matthew 6:9 it says, “Don’t store up treasures here on earth, where moths eat them and rust destroys them, and where thieves break in and steal,” in reality whatever I posses here on earth will fade away and be destroyed by natural disasters (fire, earthquake, tsunami..). But the relationships, memories and shared lives with my God and the people I love outweighs them all.

And as the chorus goes, “And if the house burns down tonight,I got everything I need when I got you by my side, ” all I can prayer for is that may I gain a heart of wisdom to fight for the things that truly matters. And if once again, I’ll face the reality of loosing something, may I have the courage to find out what it’s worth and let the rest burn.

Leave a Reply

